Top picks

Intel N100 Firewall Mini PC: 4-Port 2.5GbE Boxes for OPNsense and pfSense

Four Intel i226-V ports, a 6W chip with AES-NI and a fanless case: that combination made the N100 the default home firewall. The NIC chip matters more than anything else on the box.

Updated September 2026
Quick answer

For OPNsense or pfSense, buy a box with Intel i226-V ports: FreeBSD supports them out of the box. Four ports cover WAN, LAN and two segmented networks; six suit a small office; two work with a VLAN-aware switch. An N100 handles a gigabit WAN with NAT, firewall rules and WireGuard without strain.

  • Silent four-port: MOGINSOK, 4x Intel I226, fanless, DDR5
  • Barebone to spec yourself: CWWK, 4x i226-V
  • Six ports: UDPTCP, 6x i226
  • 10GbE uplink: oaknode, 2x SFP+ plus 4x 2.5GbE

Four Intel i226-V ports turn an N100 into a proper router

A consumer router hides a small Arm chip behind a web page. An N100 firewall box gives you four x86 cores at up to 3.4GHz, AES-NI for VPN encryption, 8GB or more of memory and an SSD, all running open-source firewall software.

The appeal is control. OPNsense and pfSense offer stateful firewalling, VLANs, multi-WAN failover, WireGuard and OpenVPN, DNS filtering, traffic shaping and intrusion detection, with updates you schedule yourself.

Four ports is the most common layout, and it maps neatly onto a home network.

  • Port 1, WAN: the modem or ONT.
  • Port 2, LAN: the main switch and trusted devices.
  • Port 3, IoT: cameras, smart plugs and TVs, walled off from the LAN.
  • Port 4, guest or lab: visitors, or a homelab segment that can break without taking the house down.

A 2.5GbE port on each leg lets multi-gigabit fibre plans and a 2.5GbE switch run at full speed. Wi-Fi comes from separate access points, which is better practice anyway: the firewall sits in a cupboard, the access points sit where the signal is needed.

Power suits a 24/7 job. The N100 carries a 6W rating from Intel, and most of these boxes run fanless. A whole firewall box typically draws a few watts more than a consumer router, and far less than a repurposed desktop. The N100 idle wattage figures give the detail.

Data

Which NIC chip each N100 firewall uses

BoxLAN portsNIC chipMemoryCoolingExtras
MOGINSOK MGSRN1004x 2.5GbEIntel I2261x DDR5 SO-DIMM, up to 32GBFanlessHDMI 2.1 + DP 1.4, watchdog
CWWK four-port4x 2.5GbEIntel i226-V1x DDR5 SO-DIMM, 4800Not statedM.2 NVMe x4, M.2 Wi-Fi slot
UDPTCP six-port6x 2.5GbEIntel i2261x DDR4 SO-DIMM, 3200Not statedSATA, COM, GPIO
Dozlzyp X4C-XL4x 2.5GbEIntel i226-V1x DDR5 SO-DIMM, up to 32GBFanless2x NVMe, Wi-Fi slot
oaknode MGNASN2x SFP+ 10GbE + 4x 2.5GbEIntel 82599ES + Intel i226-VSO-DIMM, up to 32GBNot stated4G LTE slot, SIM, SATA
UDPTCP industrial4x 2.5GbEIntel i226-V or i225-V1x DDR4 SO-DIMM, 3200Not stated2x RS232, 8 GPIO, 4G slot
HEIGAOLAPC four-port4x 2.5GbERealtek RTL8125BG8GB fittedFanless2x HDMI 2.0, TF slot

NIC chips and memory as each maker states them. Intel i226-V ports use FreeBSD's built-in igc driver; Realtek RTL8125 ports need extra driver work on OPNsense and pfSense.

Intel i226 or Realtek RTL8125: the NIC chip decides the FreeBSD experience

OPNsense and pfSense run on FreeBSD, and FreeBSD's driver support is where cheap firewall boxes differ most. Intel's i226-V is the chip to look for.

The i226-V uses FreeBSD's built-in igc driver, supported in pfSense 2.7 and current OPNsense releases without extra steps. It is the NIC on the MOGINSOK, CWWK, UDPTCP, Dozlzyp, oaknode and Montvfieto boxes.

Realtek's RTL8125 family is common on cheaper hardware, including the HEIGAOLAPC four-port box. It works well on Linux, OpenWrt and Windows. On FreeBSD it has a weaker record, and OPNsense users typically install a separate Realtek driver plugin to get stable 2.5GbE.

  • OPNsense or pfSense: prefer Intel i226-V.
  • OpenWrt, iStoreOS, VyOS or Linux: Realtek RTL8125 is fine.
  • Proxmox with a virtual firewall: either; Linux drives the NICs.
i225 or i226? Early i225-V revisions were known for dropped links at 2.5GbE. The i226-V replaced it and is the safer part. The UDPTCP industrial box lists either chip, so confirm which one ships.

Driver support beats raw port speed. A box that holds a stable link at 2.5GbE is worth more than a faster one that renegotiates every few hours.

Spec by spec

Six N100 routers, port for port

HEIGAOLAPC 4-Port Fanless Firewall HEIGAOLAPC 4-Port Fanless Firewall MOGINSOK 4-Port Firewall Appliance MOGINSOK 4-Port Firewall Appliance CWWK 4-Port Firewall Mini PC CWWK 4-Port Firewall Mini PC oaknode 10GbE SFP+ Firewall oaknode 10GbE SFP+ Firewall UDPTCP 6-Port Firewall Mini PC UDPTCP 6-Port Firewall Mini PC Dozlzyp 4-Port Firewall Appliance Dozlzyp 4-Port Firewall Appliance
TypeFirewall boxFirewall boxFirewall boxFirewall boxFirewall boxFirewall box
Memory8GB8GB DDR5————
Storage128GB SSD—————
CoolingFanlessFanlessFanFanFanFanless
Network4 LAN4 LAN4 LAN4 LAN6 LAN4 LAN
See today’s price See today’s price See today’s price See today’s price See today’s price See today’s price
Hardware

Full specs, top three

MOGINSOK 4-Port Firewall Appliance
MOGINSOK 4-Port Firewall Appliance
Model
MGSRN100
Processor
Intel N100 (Alder Lake-N) platform; current units ship with the N150
Cores / clock
4 cores / 4 threads, up to 3.4GHz (N100)
TDP
6W
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
Memory
8GB DDR5
Memory slot
1× SO-DIMM DDR5 4800MHz, up to 32GB
Storage
128GB M.2 PCIe 3.0 SSD
Storage slot
1× M.2 PCIe 3.0
Ethernet
4× 2.5GbE, Intel I226
Video
HDMI 2.1 + DP 1.4, dual 4K@60Hz
Security / virtualisation
AES-NI, VT-x, VT-d
Read the review →See today’s price
CWWK 4-Port Firewall Mini PC
CWWK 4-Port Firewall Mini PC
Model
N100
Processor
Intel N100 (Alder Lake-N), 4 cores / 4 threads
Memory slot
1× SO-DIMM DDR5 4800MHz, accepts 5200/5600MHz modules
Maximum memory
32GB
Memory fitted
None, 8GB or 16GB DDR5, by version
Storage fitted
None, 128GB or 256GB NVMe SSD, by version
Primary M.2
NVMe, PCIe x4
M.2 split
x4 slot takes an adapter for two M.2 NVMe x1 drives
M.2 wireless slot
Wi-Fi 6 / Bluetooth module, or an adapter for NVMe or mSATA
Ethernet
4× 2.5GbE, Intel i226-V, with filtered RJ45 jacks
Video
HDMI 2.1 + DP 1.4, 4096 × 2160 at 60Hz
Encryption
AES-NI
Read the review →See today’s price
UDPTCP 6-Port Firewall Mini PC
UDPTCP 6-Port Firewall Mini PC
Model
CNC-021 N100-6L
Processor
Intel N100, 4 cores / 4 threads
Clock / cache
Up to 3.4GHz, 6MB cache
TDP
6W
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
Memory slot
1× DDR4 SO-DIMM, 3200MHz
NVMe
1× M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x1
SATA
1× SATA 3.0
Wireless slot
1× M.2 2230, CNVi by default
Ethernet
6× 2.5GbE, Intel I226, filtered RJ45 jacks
Video
HDMI + DP + USB-C, triple 4K@60Hz
USB
2× USB 3.0, 2× USB 2.0
Read the review →See today’s price

OPNsense on an N100: a gigabit WAN with room for WireGuard

Four Gracemont cores are more than a home connection needs for routing and NAT. The N100 comfortably handles a gigabit WAN with firewall rules, and a 2.5GbE WAN with basic rules is within reach.

Load rises with inspection. WireGuard and OpenVPN lean on AES-NI and fast cores; WireGuard throughput depends on packet size and tunnel count. Intrusion detection with Suricata or Zenarmor inspects every packet, and large rule sets are where four efficiency cores start to show their limits at multi-gigabit speeds.

Size the box for the job.

  1. Memory: 8GB for routing, VPN and DNS filtering; 16GB for IDS with large rule sets or a few Proxmox guests.
  2. Storage: a 128GB SSD is plenty for the OS and logs; pick NVMe or SATA over eMMC for write endurance.
  3. Install: write the OPNsense or pfSense image to USB, boot from it, assign WAN and LAN by MAC address, then set the rest from the web UI.
  4. BIOS: enable auto power-on after power loss, so the network returns after an outage.

Barebones such as the CWWK and Dozlzyp take a DDR5 SO-DIMM and an NVMe SSD you supply. The MOGINSOK box takes DDR5 up to 32GB; its product name notes that current units may ship with the N150, which routes identically with a little more headroom.

To run the firewall as a VM next to Home Assistant or Pi-hole, see Proxmox and homelab duty on an N100.

Standout

Two SFP+ cages next to four 2.5GbE ports

oaknode 10GbE SFP+ Firewall
Best for a 10GbE uplink oaknode 10GbE SFP+ Firewall

oaknode's MGNASN adds two SFP+ cages on an Intel 82599ES to four i226-V 2.5GbE ports, plus a mini-PCIe slot and SIM tray for 4G LTE failover. It ships barebone, with no RAM or storage, and is also offered with the N150.

See today’s price

Two SFP+ cages outrun the N100's nine PCIe lanes

The oaknode MGNASN is the most ambitious N100 firewall: two 10GbE SFP+ cages on an Intel 82599ES, four 2.5GbE i226-V ports, and a slot for a 4G LTE modem.

The limit is lanes. The N100 has nine PCIe 3.0 lanes in total, and four i226-V ports already take four of them. The 82599ES is a PCIe 2.0 x8 controller by design, so on an N100 it almost certainly runs on fewer lanes than it was built for.

  • Realistic use: one 10GbE link to a core switch or NAS, with the router doing basic forwarding.
  • Unrealistic: two 10GbE ports at line rate with full firewall inspection.
  • Good fit: a homelab where the servers sit on 10GbE and the WAN is 1–2.5Gbps.

It ships barebone with no RAM or storage, takes one SO-DIMM up to 32GB (oaknode's text names both DDR4 and DDR5, so confirm the generation before buying a stick), and adds an M.2 NVMe slot plus a SATA port. The SIM tray and mini-PCIe slot enable 4G failover when the main line drops, a feature few home routers offer. The 82599ES is supported by FreeBSD's ix driver, so OPNsense and pfSense see the SFP+ ports natively.

For most homes, six copper ports beat two SFP+ cages. The UDPTCP six-port box puts six i226 ports behind a DDR4 SO-DIMM, a SATA port and an M.2 slot, which covers WAN, LAN and four segments without a switch in between.

Chart

N100 boxes by LAN port count

N100 product families with multiple LAN ports, by port count, September 2026.

Dual-NIC boxes route too, with a VLAN-aware switch

A router needs two ports at minimum: one to the internet, one to the home. Everything else can ride on VLANs through a managed switch.

That layout, often called router-on-a-stick, carries every internal network over one trunk port to the switch, tagged by VLAN. It works well up to the speed of that one link. With 2.5GbE, the trunk rarely becomes the bottleneck at home.

Several N100 machines have two ports without being firewall appliances.

  • OUMAX dual-LAN mini PC: two gigabit ports, 16GB DDR4, dual M.2 slots and a built-in 45W supply.
  • MeLE Quieter DL: fanless, two LAN ports, 4GB, suited to OpenWrt or a light VPN gateway.
  • HKUXZR NAS board: two Intel i226-V ports on a Mini-ITX board for a combined NAS and router build.
  • ZOTAC CI337 Nano: fanless barebone with dual gigabit.

Pick a four-port appliance when you want physical separation, simple cabling or several WAN links for failover. Pick a dual-NIC box when you already own a managed switch, or want the same machine to serve as a desktop or media PC.

Either way, check the NIC chip against the OS you plan to run, and look for Wake-on-LAN, PXE and auto power-on in the BIOS. More on the two-port and fanless options sits in silent N100 boxes and N100 Mini-ITX boards and barebones.

FAQ

Asked often

Is an N100 good for OPNsense?

Yes. Four cores up to 3.4GHz with AES-NI handle a gigabit WAN with NAT, firewall rules and WireGuard comfortably. Choose a box with Intel i226-V ports for the best FreeBSD support.

How many LAN ports does an N100 router need?

Two at minimum, with VLANs on a managed switch. Four covers WAN, LAN and two segmented networks without a switch; six suit a small office.

Do Realtek 2.5GbE ports work with pfSense and OPNsense?

They can, but they have a weaker record on FreeBSD than Intel's i226-V and usually need an extra driver package. On OpenWrt or Linux, Realtek works well.

How much RAM does an N100 firewall need?

8GB covers routing, VPN and DNS filtering. Go to 16GB for intrusion detection with large rule sets or for running other VMs alongside.

Can an N100 firewall use 10GbE?

The oaknode MGNASN adds two SFP+ ports, but the N100's nine PCIe lanes limit throughput. Expect one fast link to a switch or NAS, not two ports at full line rate.

Read next

More N100 reading

Shortlist

Other boxes to weigh