Top picks

Intel N100 Mini PC Motherboard: Mini-ITX NAS Boards and Barebone Kits

An N100 motherboard is a 170 by 170mm Mini-ITX board with the processor soldered on. Add memory, drives, a case and a power supply, and it becomes a six-drive NAS or a serial-port controller that no ready-made mini PC matches.

Updated September 2026
Quick answer

Build on a board when you need more than two drives, a PCIe card or industrial I/O: the HKUXZR NAS board carries six SATA ports and two M.2 slots on 2.5GbE. Pick a barebone kit such as the ZOTAC CI337 Nano when you only want to choose your own RAM and SSD. For one or two drives, a finished mini PC is simpler and usually cheaper.

  • NAS: HKUXZR Mini-ITX, 6x SATA, 2x M.2, 2x Intel i226-V
  • Appliance or embedded: ECS ADLN-I, DDR4, dual LAN, LVDS and LPT
  • Barebone kit: ZOTAC CI337 Nano, fanless, 2.5-inch bay and M.2

Every N100 board comes with the chip soldered on

There is no N100 socket. Intel ships the chip in a BGA package that is soldered to the board at the factory, so an N100 motherboard is always sold with its processor.

That changes the shopping. You pick a board for its slots and ports, and the processor comes with it. The chip will never be swapped, so the board's layout is the whole upgrade path.

Three kinds of N100 platform exist.

  • Mini-ITX NAS boards such as the HKUXZR, with many SATA ports and 2.5GbE for a home storage server.
  • Industrial boards such as the ECS ADLN-I and the UDPTCP board, with serial, parallel, LVDS and GPIO for machines and kiosks.
  • Barebone kits: finished mini PCs and firewall boxes sold without memory, storage or an operating system.

A board needs more parts than a kit. Budget for a Mini-ITX case, a power supply, one SO-DIMM of the right generation and your drives. The HKUXZR board wants a standard ATX 24-pin plus 4-pin connection, so an SFX or small ATX supply fits.

DDR4 or DDR5 is fixed by the board. The N100's memory controller handles both, but each board wires only one. The ECS board takes DDR4; the HKUXZR and UDPTCP boards take DDR5. Buy the stick after the board.

The rest follows Intel's spec: four cores up to 3.4GHz, a 6W base power rating, one memory channel and nine PCIe 3.0 lanes. The N100's full specification covers the chip itself.

Data

N100 Mini-ITX boards: slots, ports and power

HKUXZR NAS boardECS ADLN-I-N100UDPTCP NAS board
SizeMini-ITX, 170 x 170mmMini-ITXMini-ITX, 170 x 170mm
Memory1x DDR5 SO-DIMM, 4800–5600, up to 32GB, non-ECC1x DDR4 SO-DIMM, 32001x DDR5 SO-DIMM, 4800, up to 32GB
SATA6 (1 native, 5 via JMB585)Not stated1
M.2 storage2x NVMe 2280, PCIe 3.0 x11x M.2 for SSD1x M.2 NVMe/SATA
Other M.2None stated1x M.2 for Wi-FiE-key Wi-Fi, B-key 4G/5G
Network2x Intel i226-V 2.5GbE2x gigabit2x Realtek RTL8111 gigabit
PCIe slot1x, stated as PCIe 3.0 x4None stated1x x1, reserved
DisplayHDMI 2.1 + DP 1.4b3 independent + LVDS2x HDMI, 4K60
Legacy and industrial2 internal USB headersLPT, TPM header6x COM (2 RS232/485), GPIO, TPM
Power inputATX 24-pin + 4-pinNot statedNot stated
CoolingNot statedNot statedHeatsink with fan

As each maker states. All three carry the N100 soldered to the board in Intel's FCBGA1264 package; the HKUXZR board also comes in an N150 version.

Six SATA ports and two NICs share nine PCIe lanes

Every port on an N100 board draws from one pool: nine PCIe 3.0 lanes. How a maker spends them decides what the board is good at.

Typical costs are easy to add up. An Intel i226-V 2.5GbE controller uses one lane. A JMB585 SATA controller, which adds five ports, uses two. An M.2 slot wired at x1 uses one, and at x4 uses four.

On the HKUXZR board that means two NICs, the JMB585, two x1 NVMe slots and a native SATA port before the PCIe slot gets anything. A full four-lane slot on top of that adds up to more than nine lanes, so the slot is very likely narrower electrically or shares lanes with something else.

  • Fine at x1: a SATA SSD cache, a Coral accelerator, a second 2.5GbE card.
  • Wants x2 or more: a 10GbE card, an HBA for many more drives, a fast NVMe adapter.
  • Ask first: the lane map, before buying a card that needs full width.

SATA bandwidth is rarely the limit for spinning disks. Two lanes of PCIe 3.0 give the JMB585 roughly 2GB/s, more than five hard drives can stream together. A single 2.5GbE port tops out near 300MB/s, so the network, not the SATA controller, sets NAS transfer speed.

For boxes that spend their lanes on network ports instead, see the four- and six-port N100 firewalls.

Spec by spec

Three boards and three barebones

Hardware

Full specs, top three

HKUXZR N100 NAS Mini-ITX Board
HKUXZR N100 NAS Mini-ITX Board
Model
CW-N150-NAS-2L
Form factor
Mini-ITX, 17.0 × 17.0 cm
Processor
Intel N100, 4 cores / 4 threads, soldered (N150 version also made)
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
Memory
1 × DDR5 SO-DIMM, 4800/5200/5600MHz, non-ECC, up to 32GB
SATA
6 × SATA 3.0 6Gbps (SATA1 native, SATA2–6 via JMB585)
M.2
2 × M.2 NVMe 2280, PCIe 3.0 x1 each
PCIe slot
1 × PCIe 3.0 x4
Ethernet
2 × Intel i226-V 2.5GbE
Video outputs
1 × HDMI 2.1, 1 × DisplayPort 1.4b, dual 4K@60Hz
Rear USB
1 × USB 3.0, 1 × Type-C (USB 2.0), 2 × USB 2.0
Internal USB
2 × onboard USB headers for NAS boot drives
Read the review →See today’s price
ECS ADLN-I N100 Mini-ITX Board
ECS ADLN-I N100 Mini-ITX Board
Model
ECS IPC ADLN-I-N100
Form factor
Mini-ITX
Processor
Intel Processor N100 SoC, soldered (FCBGA1264)
Cores / threads
4 / 4
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
Memory
1 × DDR4 SO-DIMM, 3200MHz
SSD slot
1 × M.2 for SSD
Wireless slot
1 × M.2 for Wi-Fi
Ethernet
2 × RJ45, Gigabit
USB 3.2 Gen1
4 × (5Gbps)
USB 2.0
2 ×
Displays
3 independent
Read the review →See today’s price
ZOTAC ZBOX CI337 Nano
ZOTAC ZBOX CI337 Nano
Processor
Intel Processor N100, quad-core, 0.8GHz base, up to 3.4GHz
Cache
6MB
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
Memory
Not included, add one module
Storage
Not included
M.2 slot
NVMe PCIe 3.0 x1 or SATA SSD
Drive bay
1× 2.5-inch HDD/SSD
Video out
2× HDMI 2.0, 1× DisplayPort 1.4, DisplayPort over USB-C
Displays
Three at once, 4K@60Hz
USB
4× USB 3.2 (one Type-C)
Ethernet
2× gigabit
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6
Read the review →See today’s price

Build a NAS on the HKUXZR board, a Mini-ITX case and one SO-DIMM

The HKUXZR board is the one N100 motherboard designed around storage. Six SATA ports, two NVMe slots and two Intel 2.5GbE ports make it a complete NAS platform on a 170mm square.

A sensible build runs in this order.

  1. Case: a Mini-ITX NAS case with four to six hot-swap or fixed 3.5-inch bays.
  2. Power supply: an SFX or small ATX unit with a 24-pin and a 4-pin CPU connector; the board needs both to start.
  3. Memory: one DDR5 SO-DIMM, 16GB for TrueNAS or Unraid, 32GB for ZFS with several VMs.
  4. Boot drive: a small NVMe SSD in one M.2 slot; the second slot can hold a cache or app drive.
  5. Data drives: up to six on SATA, with SATA1 on the chip's own controller.

First boot takes patience. The maker notes that memory training can take a few minutes on first power-on, with a blank screen, before the BIOS appears. Hold DEL to enter setup.

Memory is non-ECC and single-channel, which suits a home NAS but not a system that demands ECC. ZFS runs fine without it on a home server; weigh that choice before you trust irreplaceable data to it.

The same board sells in N100 and N150 versions. For a NAS the gap is small, since the drives and network set the pace. NAS, Plex and Proxmox on an N100 covers the software side.

Standout

Six COM ports on one Mini-ITX board

UDPTCP N100 NAS Mini-ITX Board
Best for serial and industrial I/O UDPTCP N100 NAS Mini-ITX Board

UDPTCP's board carries six COM ports, two of them RS232/485, plus GPIO, a TPM header and a B-key slot for a 4G or 5G modem. It takes a DDR5 SO-DIMM up to 32GB and ships with a fan on the heatsink.

See today’s price

Barebone kits skip the case hunt but not the RAM and SSD

A barebone N100 is a finished box sold empty. The case, board, cooling and power adapter are included; memory, storage and the operating system are yours to add.

The ZOTAC ZBOX CI337 Nano is the desktop example. It is fanless, with a 2.5-inch drive bay and an M.2 slot that takes NVMe at PCIe 3.0 x1 or SATA, dual gigabit LAN, Wi-Fi 6, two HDMI 2.0 ports, DisplayPort 1.4 and DP over USB-C. It suits a quiet office PC or a small file server where you want to pick the SSD yourself.

Most other N100 barebones are firewall appliances.

  • CWWK: 4x Intel i226-V, a DDR5 SO-DIMM slot, and an M.2 NVMe x4 slot that splits into two x1 drives through an adapter.
  • Dozlzyp: fanless, 4x i226-V, DDR5 up to 32GB and two NVMe slots.
  • Montvfieto and oaknode: fanless four-port boxes with DDR5, a SATA port and support for one to four NVMe drives.
  • UDPTCP industrial: 4x 2.5GbE, DDR4, two RS232 ports and 8 GPIO.

Check the memory generation before ordering RAM. The CWWK, Dozlzyp, Montvfieto and oaknode boxes take DDR5 SO-DIMMs; the UDPTCP industrial box takes DDR4. A laptop stick of the wrong generation will not fit the slot.

Barebones also dodge a common cost: a bundled Windows licence you may not need for OPNsense, Proxmox or Linux.

Chart

Drive connections: eight on the NAS board, two on the rest

SATA ports plus M.2 storage slots, as each maker states them. Adapter boards and USB drives not counted.

Below three drives, a finished mini PC beats a board

A Mini-ITX board earns its extra parts and wiring only when you need what a mini PC cannot give: many drives, a card slot or industrial ports. Below that line, a ready-made box wins.

Count the parts. A board build adds a case, a power supply and cables, and the whole system draws more at idle than a mini PC with the same chip, because ATX supplies are inefficient at a few watts of load. A finished N100 box includes all of it, with one warranty.

  • One or two drives: buy a mini PC. Many, like the OUMAX dual-LAN box, have two M.2 slots; others add a 2.5-inch bay.
  • Three to six drives: the HKUXZR board in a NAS case.
  • Serial devices, LVDS panels, a printer port: the ECS or UDPTCP industrial board.
  • A router: a firewall barebone, not a motherboard.
  • Your own RAM and SSD, no DIY: a barebone kit such as the ZOTAC CI337 Nano.

Idle power is the running cost to watch on a DIY NAS. Spinning disks draw several watts each, which dwarfs the N100's own share. Spin-down settings and an efficient power supply matter more than the board.

If you land on a finished box, the N100 mini PC price bands by memory and storage show what each configuration should cost.

FAQ

Asked often

Can I buy an N100 CPU on its own?

No. The N100 is a BGA chip soldered to its board, so it is only sold as part of a motherboard, a barebone kit or a finished mini PC.

What memory does an N100 motherboard take?

One SO-DIMM, either DDR4 or DDR5 depending on the board. The ECS ADLN-I takes DDR4; the HKUXZR and UDPTCP NAS boards take DDR5, up to 32GB by their makers' figures.

How many drives can an N100 NAS board hold?

The HKUXZR board has six SATA ports and two M.2 NVMe slots, eight drives in total. Most other N100 boards and kits take one or two.

What is an N100 barebone mini PC?

A finished N100 box sold without memory, storage or an operating system. You fit a SO-DIMM and an SSD, then install Windows, Linux, Proxmox or a firewall OS.

What power supply does an N100 Mini-ITX board need?

The HKUXZR board needs a standard ATX 24-pin plus 4-pin CPU connection. An SFX or small ATX unit fits a Mini-ITX NAS case.

Read next

More N100 reading

Shortlist

Other boxes to weigh